How many varieties of gluten-free pasta exist?
There are many varieties of gluten-free dry pasta, because there are many naturally gluten-free flours from which it is possible to obtain pasta, a versatile and indispensable food within a healthy and balanced diet. Here you will find a short review of the 8 types of gluten-free pasta most common in supermarkets, pharmacies, natural and organic food stores (especially for the most particular pastas such as legumes and lupins) and in gluten-free products stores. .
Pasta RICE PASTA
Perhaps it is the most common on supermarket shelves, even the smaller ones. It is made from rice flour, has a pale color, keeps cooking al dente (especially the quality) and combines well with condiments of many types, because the taste is exactly that of rice. The calories per 100g of rice paste are almost identical to those of wheat pasta (although it is obviously a gluten-free pasta!). The rice pasta is also very tasty, even more nutritious than that of white rice.
The Buckwheat GRANO SARACENO
The buckwheat flour is perhaps the alternative naturally gluten-free flour that has been revalued in the last period. Generally it is not used in purity in dry pasta, but together with other gluten-free flour, especially rice and corn. With a strong and rustic flavor, that of buckwheat is not a very protein paste (more or less like that of rice).
CORN PASTA Widespread as much as that of rice, it stands out on the shelves because of its bright yellow color. It is made with corn flour (often with mixtures of white corn and yellow corn)